Dressing the cake!

Standard

I am feeling very cakey right now, probably because it isn’t on the menu plan and I really would love a bite.  So let me share some more cake ideas with you…

Early early into our unengagement I came across Lego Cake Toppers… let me pause… both Sweetie Scone and I were giant Lego nerds growing up, these were just too fun not to look at in Fall 2009…

Image via Etsy

Image via Etsy/From Folded Fancy Creations

Well one day I came home from school and Sweetie Scone had a surprise… she custom designed and ordered our very own Lego Cake Topper (FYI, it is less expensive than buying one on Etsy…)  Our cake peeps are still in pieces waiting for their grand entrance.

I pooooositively love that we have a Lego Cake Topper, but I have a secret fear… that one day our (non-existent) kids will find our cake topper, disassemble it and the pieces will be lost unto the ages.  While this would certainly not be the end of the world, I would love to have a part of our wedding cake present for milestone anniversaries like the 25th or the 50th!  At my parents 30th wedding anniversary we located the pieces of their topper and put it on the cake.  It was seriously one of my favorite things.  So I have been thinking about supplemental options that could join our fantastic little Lego friends.  The idea of a couple strategically placed flowers is appealing to both Sweetie Cake and I… like so

Image via Style Me Pretty

Image via Style Me Pretty/Photo by JL Photographers/Wedding: Lindsay & Nathan/Cake by Cakes to Celebrate

Image via Style Me Pretty

Image via Style Me Pretty/Photo by Orange Turtle Photography/Wedding: Lina  & Henry

Image via Style Me Pretty

Image via Style Me Pretty/Photo by Gina Meola Photography/Photo Shoot/Cake by Classic Cakes & Confections

While we could get fresh flowers from our florist… or we could go to Etsy (because that solves all problems right?)

So I am thinking about one of these lovelies:

Image via Etsy/From DK Designs/Large Orange Poppy

Image via Etsy/From DK Designs/Fuchsia Pink Peony

Image via Etsy/From DK Designs/Pink Open Peony

Image via Etsy/From DK Designs/Pink Dahlia

What do you think?

Leave a Reply

