Scone nice to meet you!

Standard

Howdy!!!!!!!!  I am so very excited to meet you!  Forgive my gratuitous puns, but seriously it is scooooone.nice to meet you!  After obsessively checking e-mail and trying my hardest to be patient, one morning I received an e-mail from Pengy and I thought I read the e-mail wrong.  I had to re-read it a few times in disbelief because it was way too exciting.  Then I had to announce it in my office and call my better half… ahhh!!!!!!!

I am sooo very excited to be baking up some fun on the hive as Miss Scone!  Why Miss Scone?  Scones are one of my favorite breakfast treats, they are also one of my favorite things to bake (favorite recipe is below just in case you are tempted!)  While I am not baking anything for the wedding it is one of my favorite things to do…

Here’s a bit about us:

I grew up between Oregon and Northern California (think 5 hours North of San Francisco, what up Eureka and hey Eugene!), fled the West Coast for College (howdy Mount Holyoke!), decided snow wasn’t for me so I bounced between Oregon, Washington and California until I finally settled in Napa.  I am someone who must have projects on my plate (not one, sometimes two, usually 3 or more…), I love baking from scratch (bread, cake, SCONES, cookies, pies, etc…).  Family is super important to both of us and we know how to have a good time.  Whenever I have the chance, I try to head outside to enjoy the beautiful area I live in and I am actively trying to re-learn to like running…

(personal photo)

My better half, Sweety Scone, is a Midwestern girl that hails from Kansas City.  She loves motorcycles of all flavors, which is good because she works on electric motorcycles and has a Harley.  We try to go on rides when the weather is good (lately we haven’t been able to get out too often).  She can beat me any day of the week with celebrity trivia, a dance off (she’s got moves), or walking in heels.  A couple of years back she took a chance and moved West for a job, boy am I glad she did!

(personal photo)

We have a dog child, yes we are those people ;)  Wanna see?

(personal photo)

Isn’t he sooo freaking cute?  Ahh, Darby the dog child, he is a rescue and he appreciates every ounce of love that is poured on him.

We are approaching our 3 year anniversary and are so excited to be planning a quirky, convivial, family friendly wedding in the heartland!  Can’t wait to share the adventures of planning a pseudo destination same-sex wedding!

Miss Scone’s Favorite Scones…AKA Swedish Scones

(Recipe via about.com/ Contributed by the Colony Hospital Bed and Breakfast/initially found on bnbfinder.com circa 2000)

2 cups flour
1/4 cup sugar
1/8 teaspoon salt
1 tablespoon baking powder
1 1/4 cups heavy whipping cream

With spoon mix all ingredients until just wet.  Don’t over mix.  Add your
favorite fruit to the amount you desire (for fruit it is best to put it in frozen because it bakes better, chocolate chips or just brushed with cinnamon and sugar)

Take half the dough and knead 4 times on a lightly floured surface.  Shape
into a flat circle and cut into 8 pie shapes.  Brush lightly with cream
and sprinkle with sugar.  Bake at 350 until bottoms are golden brown (and/or until is smells delicious)

I have been known to use non-fat milk but they are soooo much tastier with the heavy whipping cream, mmmmlicious!

Leave a Reply

